Semifinalists Revealed For 2017 Music Educator Award

A total of 25 music teachers from 25 cities across 16 states have been announced as semifinalists for the Music Educator Award presented by The Recording Academy and the GRAMMY Foundation. Initial nominations were submitted from all 50 states.

The Music Educator Award was established to recognize current educators (kindergarten through college, public and private schools) who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and who demonstrate a commitment to the broader cause of maintaining music education in schools.

The award is open to current U.S. music teachers, and anyone can nominate a teacher — students, parents, friends, colleagues, community members, school deans, and administrators. Teachers are also able to nominate themselves, and nominated teachers are notified and invited to fill out an application.

Each year, one recipient is selected from 10 finalists and recognized for their remarkable impact on students' lives. The fourth annual honoree will be flown to the host city of the GRAMMY Awards to be recognized during GRAMMY Week 2017. The recipient will also attend the 59th Annual GRAMMY Awards ceremony and a range of GRAMMY Foundation events.

The nine additional finalists will receive a $1,000 honorarium, and the schools of all 10 finalists will receive matching grants. Additionally, 15 semifinalists will receive a $500 honorarium with matching school grants for the first time in the award's history.

Nominations and applications for the 2018 Music Educator Award are now open via

2017 Music Educator Award Nominees

Erica Breitbarth - Reagan IB High School - Milwaukee, Wis.
Charles Cushinery - Ed W. Clark High School - Las Vegas, Nev.
Darnella Davidson - San Pedro Senior High School - San Pedro, Calif.
David Dehner - Monte Vista Christian School - Watsonville, Calif.
Jose Diaz - MacArthur High School - Houston, Texas
Krista Fanning - Caddo Middle Magnet - Shreveport, La.
Chris Gleason - Patrick Marsh Middle School - Sun Prairie, Wis.
Roosevelt Griffin - Gwendolyn Brooks Middle School  - Harvey, Ill.
Keith Hancock - Tesoro High School - Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.
Elizabeth Hankins - Lakewood High School - Lakewood, Ohio
Keith Hart Sr. - KIPP Believe College Prep - New Orleans, La.
Michael Henderson - Chase High School - Forest City, N.C.
Judy Hilliard - Easley Year-Round Magnet Elementary School - Durham, N.C.
Kathryn Malin Iwanusa - PS 11 - Brooklyn, N.Y.
Brandi Jason - Liberty High School - Eldersburg, Md.
Nick Lenio - Basalt Middle School - Basalt, Colo.
Pamela McClain - Parkersburg High School - Parkersburg, W. Va.
Henry Miller - Sierra Vista Middle School - Irvine, Calif.
Richard Nickerson - Windham High School - Windham, Maine
Ulli Reiner - Bernardo Heights Middle School - Poway, Calif.
>Melissa Salguero - PS 48 Joseph R. Drake - Bronx, N.Y.
Nathan Sletten - Earlham Community Schools - Earlham, Iowa
Jason Smith - Newton High School - Covington, Ga.
Nicole Thompson - Taylor Road Middle School - Johns Creek, Ga.
Linda Versprille - Cane Bay High School - Summerville, S.C.

Benefits of Membership

The Recording Academy is the preeminent organization for musicians, producers, engineers and other music professionals. Our mission is to advance artistic and technical excellence, work to ensure a vital and free creative environment, and act as an advocate on behalf of music and its makers.

Our members have access to live events all around the country, as well as 24/7 access to the GRAMMY Pro library of video and editorial content, which explores the industry and craft of music.

Learn More